November 7th, 2010

Australian Cartoon Conference 2010

by Alex Hallatt

Melbourne skyline

St Kilda pier

sculpture on pedestrian bridge

Jason Seiler

Jason Seiler

Jason Seiler embarrasses some ACA blokes by not pulling any punches over their appearance - glad it wasn't me!

Leigh Hobbs

Peter Viska and Michael Jantze showed their impressive animation showreels

The last photo is from the ACA web site and you can see more here.

It was fantastic to meet more great cartoonists this year, including the multi-talented and charming Michael Jantze, who wasn’t able to come last year due to a bit of a plane ticket snafu…

I didn’t take my camera to the Stanleys, but Table 4 was the best crowd. David Pope got the award for Cartoonist of the Year and it couldn’t have happened to a nicer chap. We were surrounded by talented Melbourne cartonists – Oslo Davis, Andrew Weldon (who is resisting the siren call of the internet), Matt Golding, Leigh Hobbs and Judy Horacek (who has scandalously never been nominated, but whose book is getting rave reviews). I was chuffed to get nominated again in the comic strip category, even though I lost out to my nemesis, Tony Lopes (please, Tony – enter Insanity Streak in the single panel division and give me a chance!).  At the end of the evening, we were hand-drawing business cards to give to each other. Considering that a fair few of us were tired and emotional, I’m surprised how well these turned out.

recycling the Stanleys brochure at the dinner




Unlock 250,000+ comics.

Terms apply. Converts to Continuous Service Subscription. Cancel Anytime.

Get Premium Access.

Unlock 250,000+ comics.

2 Months Free

Terms Apply. Converts to Continuous Service Subscription. Cancel Anytime.